Role Reversal

Kevin and I both began our working life babysitting. We definitely went separate directions – work-wise – after that, but like most preteens/teenagers we began pocketing a few dollars here and there by babysitting!

I actually had quite the business going when I lived in Ontario, my Dad had even printed off some ‘Babysitting by Barbara’ business cards and I had quite a few families that put me to good use! When I moved to New Brunswick I babysat for two families before moving on to other jobs.

When I finally stopped babysitting (during university) I saved these emergency info notepad sheets that I had from the earlier days thinking that someday I would have a baby and need them again!

On March28 we had our first ‘official’ babysitter watch our daughter while we went out for lunch and an afternoon matinée at the theatre! I filled out a little sheet for her, pumped as much milk as I could manage, and off we went! We had a great afternoon but it was certainly quite a role-reversal for us to be the ones needing a babysitter!

Hopefully she’ll come back and do it again, sometime! :)

Leave a Reply

