Things For Which I Am Grateful

“Cultivate the habit of being grateful for every good thing that comes to you, and to give thanks continuously. And because all things have contributed to your advancement, you should include all things in your gratitude.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Earlier this afternoon, as I set my tablet on the counter, I stared into my bubbling soup and considered the words I had just read in my electronic copy of Oliver Twist. I smiled to myself at the irony – the fact that I’m making homemade soup and all that Oliver wanted was some more… This prompted me to consider all of the things that I am thankful for and, I’ve since added the final ingredients to the soup, I can now sit and tell you each one.

Some of you may be laughing to yourself because this post seems very Thanksgiving-esque. But a lot has happened to me since Thanksgiving, and I am still grateful for so much. I have to share it!

  • I am grateful for the love of my husband [if you don’t like corny thruths, feel free to exit the screen now]. Through the good times that we’ve recently enjoyed, right through to the silent war we’re waging now, he is always 100% beside me. If I had to pick one thing that I’m most glad to have learned about him over the last six years, it’s that his love is unconditional.
  • I am grateful for my family. I am incredibly lucky to have parents who worked very heard to pass to me a set of values that guide my life in this world. I have an amazing family with roots spanning Nova Scotia and Newfoundland. I have family that I no longer speak with, and family that I am nearly inseparable from. Each interaction, each relation – taught me to be strong, confident, and proud of where I come from. Proud of the values that I hold near to my heart. Because I have that strong foundation, I have never hesitated to embrace my new last name – Bouchard – and the Brayon culture and background that it & my husband carry.
  • I am beyond grateful for my amazing job. Sure, there are days where I am exhausted and I just want to sleep for days. Inevitably those are the times where I become even more busy. But there are also those awe-inspiring moments where I pass a baby to a crying woman, holding her granddaughter for the first time. Those moments where parents are scared or at their wits’ end, and I am able to help. Those are the things that make my job amazing and allow me to be excited for work, each and every shift.
  • I am also grateful for an opportunity that may be coming my way. I could never replace my moms and babies but earning this new job would allow me to gain invaluable experience and save more quickly for a home of our own.
  • I am grateful for the technology we have at our fingertips. Losing our electricity just before Christmas really opened my eyes to what is most important and what is most convenient, and that they might not overlap as I once thought.

Finally, I am grateful for my soup. The great analogy of this blog post today. I am grateful to have the means to make it; ingredients, knowledge, skill, items, and the family that passed the recipe to me. I am grateful that I have something to offer my husband, parents, and friends. I’m grateful I can stock my freezer and be prepared. I’m grateful that the recipe is healthy and that the meal contributes to my health goals, that I can work toward. And that my health improves my chances for the miracle for which I’ve been waiting impatiently.

For some reason, tonight, I have a grateful heart.

I am so thankful for the place in life that I occupy at this moment.

2 thoughts on “Things For Which I Am Grateful

Leave a Reply

