Before I Add the Veggies

Before I add the veggies into the pot of salt beef boiling on my stovetop, I thought I would stop by the blog and share a few words about Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving!

You know, that time of year where it’s colder than summer and not quite winter, and you realize that it’s been a whole freaking year since you were thankful for what you are blessed with!

And then, when you realize you haven’t been thankful in a whole year, you start frantically posting online about all of the things you are thankful for…

‘I am thankful for my family and friends’

‘I am thankful for our health’

‘I am thankful for my job & successes’

‘I am SO thankful for the food on our plates’

‘I am thankful for _____________’

And that is awesome! I’m glad you have so many things and people to be thankful for.. And you tag all of your family in a Facebook post so we all know EXACTLY who you are thankful for. Whew! Glad you did that!

Don’t stop people, because I love creeping your Thanksgiving status’!

Buuuuut, I think this year I might pass on that. I love this blog and being able to share my thoughts here, so I think I will just share with you the things that I am thankful for here.

I am thankful that each day I wake up realizing how lucky I am.

I am thankful for the people in my life who show me each day what it is to be blessed.

I am thankful for the fact that it isn’t just Thanksgiving that makes me want to spend time with my family and friends – that we get together, share, and love all year ’round.

I am thankful that I don’t live on the street, jobless, hopeless, like so many who aren’t enjoying a feast tonight.

I am thankful for my ability to sit and write these thoughts out – free speech, the ability to read and write, a forum to post online.

And I am thankful for YOU. Yep, you, the one who is reading this right now. Why write with no reader? You are the one who inspired me to write this. Your posts and shared stories of thanksgiving, they have inspired me to share mine.

So, THANK YOU!!

Gotta go throw the veggies in the pot now!

B

Leave a Reply

