Where were you, when the world stopped turning?

Image

 

I often here people saying, and I think it’s a lyric from a song, “where were you, when the world stopped turning?”.

And I understand the need to reflect. To remember back to that day, September 11th, 2001, and to picture yourself doing whatever it was you were doing. At work? At school? Playing on a playground at recess, and then walking home for lunch, like me??

But it’s not really where we were that matters – those of us who live on today, who were lucky enough to be wherever it was we were when it happened. Should we really be thinking back to that day? Or should we be helping our neighbours. If the events of 9/11 still haunt those who were not affected, or at least not directly, imagine the pain of those who were. Living in a military community I know firsthand the effects – seeing my friends, my neighbours – my husband – away for months at a time, fighting in a war that continues long past its precipitating event.

There are still ways to HELP.

On September 11th, 2001 I was at school.

My husband was, too.

My dad was at work, CFB Petawawa, which subsequently went on lockdown.

My Mom hugged me, when I got home.

 

Some weren’t so lucky – and that is what I choose to remember today.

2 thoughts on “Where were you, when the world stopped turning?

  1. This is so true. My goodness, Barb, your heart seems to be 10 times to BIG! You inspire me with your writing to be as good and loving as I can be. Hope and love just beam from you. Thank you.
    P.S. The 9/11 Help site was very inpirational as well, just to know how many are working to make the world a little better.

Leave a Reply

