Meant To Be

stork

 

 

You’ve heard it before.

“It was meant to be”.

So have I, but I never really believed it would happen to me.

Many people told me, since my first year of nursing, that I wouldn’t like the maternity unit.

That I would love something else.

Many people questioned why I wanted to work with women day-in and day-out.

Many people said I shouldn’t preceptor in maternity.

“You’ll lose your skills”

“You won’t get a job”

“It isn’t always happy”

What people don’t realize, is that is the kind of nurse I want to be!

What people don’t realize, is that the skills that I’m “losing” aren’t ones I want anyway – I’m gaining skills they didn’t consider.

Yesterday, I heard “Congratulations” and “We’d like to offer you a position” and “your start date is May 13th”.

Yesterday, my dream of being a nurse became real…

 

And now I know, without a doubt, I am where I’m meant to be.

pregnant_silhouette

Leave a Reply

