What I wanted to say was…

Waiting

Kevin, my fiancé, came home from Afghanistan (commonly referred to in my house as ‘Sucks-a-lot-istan’) on November 26th.

This day was pretty crazy, hectic, exciting, and it went by faster than I realized at the time. I had class in the morning, some last minute errands and tidying up over lunch, and then got dressed and ready to leave for the airport in the afternoon. The supper hours/evening were spent waiting forever at his building on base. And then finally he was back.

What I realize now, is that I haven’t really taken the time to thank everyone that has been there for us, and supported us. So here goes!

I want to first thank Kevin. He did his job, served his country, and kept his promise to me to come home safe! ♥

Next I want to thank my parents, who saw me the most, were there for me the most, and helped me so, so much. Hugging me while I cried my heart out, taking me places and keeping me busy, fixing things when they broke, and taking care of my two little pets, I couldn’t have asked for any more.

To Kevin’s family. It is amazing how you come together around him and support and love him. I am proud to say that he has parents and extended family that truly love him. Thank you for all your prayers, love, and support.

I’d like to thank anyone who sent Kevin parcels or mail. Those who didn’t are no different than those who did, but we appreciate your extra time, love, and support.

I want to thank my friends. The ones who helped me out and did enormous favours – I can never repay you.  The ones who kept me busy, put up with my complaining and constant focus on the tour, and are still there for me now that he’s home.

I want to thank certain family members of mine from far away – in Fort Mac, Quebec, Ontario and Newfoundland. Some of you I haven’t seen in years and years and you still care. Some of you visit as often as you can and I’m so excited every time. Some of you aren’t related by blood, but are more my family than some who are.  I still can’t believe all the love and support that can be carried by one little inbox message or one simple text. Thanks!

To my family in Nova Scotia, who have always been there for me, but even more so when I came to stay for 6 and a half weeks. Those were some of the best weeks of my life, and I have my family to thank for it!

To my Nursing friends. Day in and day out – class, clinical, and my favourite – grabbing supper together! You understand. You are the best.

To the amazingly talented and beautiful photographer who took all of the candid shots that night. I’m so glad you could make it, and I’m so glad I’ll have you again in August!

I’m sure I missed some of you. And I’m sure I don’t tell you all often enough.

For the last 8 months, my heart and my mind were with Kevin. But now, I can open those to you, and say thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

B

5 thoughts on “What I wanted to say was…

  1. I think we are all just happy that Kevin is home safe and sound and you two can move forward of this. I know you don’t think you showed “enough” strength at times. I can tell you 100% that you did. You mom and I used to cry our hearts out too…you just didn’t see it. xoxo

  2. We never think we show enough strength, but the fact that you survived is testament of your strength and loyalty. I’m glad your fiance made it back to you safely. Cherish each other and don’t sweat the small stuff. Enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

