Last First Day of School

In 2005, I sat in the dusty old theatre of Oromocto High School with a bunch of other nervous grade ‘niners’ just starting high school. We sat through explanations about graduation requirements and classes, and blah blah blah. And then one of the guidance counselors, taking the stage to speak, said “Welcome, class of 2009”. My jaw dropped.

It seemed so far away.

Then, in 2009, I hiked from MacLaggan all the way to the Aitken Centre with a bunch of other first year Nursing students. All of us unaware of exactly what lay ahead. We sat on uncomfortable metal folding chairs and sat through speaker after speaker. And then the president of the university got up to the podium and said “Welcome, class of 2013”. I immediately thought, oh my God.

But it’s so far away!

And now, here I sit typing this, thinking back on all of my first days of school. That first one in Petawawa, at the very beginning, when my Mom cried and didn’t want me to go. Didn’t want to let me go. All the way to tomorrow. Tomorrow is my last first day of school, and I have such mixed feelings. On one hand, I’m sad because I am facing 8 months of crazy hectic schedules, homework, and early morning clinical shifts at the hospital. On the other hand (over in the red corner where Kevin tends to hang out!) I am excited because it’s my final year of school, which leads to so many things for me! With graduation comes the hope that I find a job and can move forward with my life.

I think about how fast high school flew by, and now these last three years. I wonder, are the next 5 going to fly by just as fast? Before I know it, I’ll be crying my eyes out dropping my own baby off at school. They always tell you time flies, and not to wish it away, but wow.

My last first day of school, already?

Wish me luck!

B

2 thoughts on “Last First Day of School

  1. Photos are adorable! School starts here in NYC today. Daughter is starting second grade. Here’s to a great school year for all kids!

    Education is not filling a pail but the lighting of a fire. ~William Butler Yeats

    1. You live in NYC?! And you read MY blog?! Thank you so much!! I’ve been to New York (as a tourist, obviously) and it is amazing! Hope your daughter has a great first day!

Leave a Reply

