How Barb Buys Food

Hey Barbiedollxo fans :) Guess what?

I HAVE LOST 10 POUNDS!

In March I decided to lose some weight. It was something that had been bothering me for a while, the weight that I had put on while in university, but I wasn’t doing a whole lot about it. I started going to the gym to swim for an hour (my favourite workout!!), about once a week. Until school ended for the year, I did spin class about once a week too. When I finished school I swam a couple more times but then went away for 6 weeks, far from my gym. While I was away I did a 6k walk with my cousin a few times and a 3k run/3k walk for the Brain Tumor Society.. Other than that I ate a lot of carbs at home, pizza and McDonald’s and sodium-packed hospital food until I got back to NB. It’s only been the months of June & July that I’ve really committed to eating well AND exercising regularly and I finally managed to drop down those last few pounds to round off an even 10! I plan to lose about 14-19 more pounds and I thought I’d share how I did it through my blog. For today, I have pictures & advice about how to get started and how to buy groceries! One of the key things is to buy fresh produce every couple of days, and only what you’ll eat! I have pictures of some of my favourite meals and kitchen favourites but I’ll make those into separate blogs! :)

 

So today I did a little groceries and decided to lay it all out for you to see! I already had some key staples in the fridge/freezer like cucumber, apples, chicken, frozen fruit, etc. but this is what I bought today. I know you see the chocolate, but we’ll get to that later.

 

One of the things to try and keep in mind when you are grocery shopping is that 2/3 of your order should be fruits or vegetables! Try and buy things that don’t come in packages (whole watermelon vs. presliced) but if it means the difference between you actually eating it, or just staring at it until it goes bad, then buy the pre-sliced versions. I buy fruit that I don’t even like because I can add it to a smoothie with more prominant flavours and still get the health benefits!

 

I work a lot and pack lunches when I’m in school too, so I try and buy carbs that are healthier than other options. Oatmeal is my favourite meal but I have another post on the way about that. Dry cereal is a great snack when you’re craving chips, but try and choose whole/multigrain. Organic & gluten free tortilla chips for those gotta-have-’em days.

 

I’m not going to lie, this is the first time I’ve ever bought skim milk in my life. I used to drink the 3.25% Homogenized milk (think red carton you give to babies – fattening!) and I moved to 2%, then 1% (for the past month) and now finally to skim. It was a bit of a process but I’m used to it now.

Moderation is key!! I’ve been craving chocolate all week (Jersey Milk – my FAVOURITE!), so I bought some! Then, I came home and opened both bars. I broke them up and put 3 squares into each sandwich baggie. Then I put them all in the cupboard. If I want chocolate, I eat 3 squares & don’t feel bad about it! I also love to dip, so I splurge on veggie (& occasionally fruit, like you see here) dip.

 

Now before you flip out, I already put all my chicken away in the freezer before this photo! Otherwise it would look much better. Lean meats and as little red meat as possible is healthiest, but this is what I’m having for supper tonight and so it was still out on the table..

 

The crazy carbs! Bread! I eat bread every day. I’m sure if I would cut it out then I would drop weight a lot easier, but unfortunately I love it too much! Make the switch to the gross kinds! Smartbread won’t cut it, you need to SEE the grains in your bread. For English muffins I settle for whole wheat..

 

Last but not least, non-food rewards! I have officially lost 10 pounds, and so I bought myself some non-food rewards! I read something once that said “Do not reward yourself with food, you are not a dog” and it sent the message home! If you work really hard at the gym, that doesn’t mean you can eat whatever you want!! Buy some Essie, TSwift-endorsed lipstick and the expensive shampoo, and you’ll feel better about yourself than eating that bag of chips. Truth.

One thought on “How Barb Buys Food

  1. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

Leave a Reply

