Things I want my children to know…

Kevin and I have had our baby names picked out for quite some time now. Both of us have two middle names each and were named after other people. We agreed that we’d stick with one middle name for each of our children and not name them after anyone. Recently with the passing of the most amazing aunt to ever walk the earth, my aunt Ellen, we brought up in discussion the possibility of honoring her in some way. We talked about naming a possible second daughter after her but were conflicted by the ‘rules’ we agreed on so long ago. After a while we finally made a decision.

When Kevin and I have a daughter, her name will be Emily Elle Bouchard. My biggest hope is that she will honor her name and know that “Elle” is her version of “Ellen”. In French, elle means her, but it’s also one n short of Ellen… We hope she is proud.

All of this talk about baby names and the future in general led me to thinking about things I want my children to know. I decided to make a list. From now until I grow old, these are the things I want my children to know. (Disclaimer: I am not pregnant. Wedding first, then maybe I’ll put this list up on the wall of an empty bedroom <3)

“Dear Emily Elle and Jacob Alexandre,

I want you to know that your Papa and I loved you long before your heart began beating.

I want you to know that we had your names picked out years before we made you. We picked them just for you and trusted that God would give us the babies that we wanted so badly.

I want you to know that your Papa and I will always do whatever it takes to keep you healthy and happy.

I want you to know that however you choose to enter the world, we will welcome you with love.

I want you to know that even though we might be working, that doesn’t mean we’re not thinking of you or loving you.

I want you to know French and English. You might get frustrated sometimes but it will be okay – on vous aimes beaucoup.

I want you to know that Papa and I will always shower you with love, hugs, and kisses, and that you never have to wonder if we love you.

I want you to know we will be proud of every milestone you reach, and proud to be your parents.

I want you to know that I will cry like a baby on your first day of school. You don’t have to worry though, because you’ll love it.

I want you to know that I’ll help you with your homework. If I have to finish learning French with you, that’s okay. We’ll figure it out together.

I want you to be kind to each other. No one in the world understands you like a sibling. Love each other and be there for each other.

I want to teach you to be kind to other children. You and the other children will be better for it.

I want you to know that bugs freak me out, and if you come home with lice your Papa (or Lisa) will have to take care of that.

I want you to know the feeling of standing in front of the ocean, staring out over the water and feeling like a little tiny drop.

I want you to know the feeling of accomplishing your goal or dream and feeling on top of the world.

I want you both to learn to swim, fast, and to run, skip, jump, and dance with all your heart.

I want you to drive into a tree or something, and not get hurt, but realize the value of care and attention.

I want you to drive past a police car doing the speed limit, and I want you to see those flashing lights behind you too. You’ll learn a lot from both experiences.

I want you both to try hard at everything you do – school, hobbies, sports – and then decide what you want to do with the rest of your life. Whatever it is, Papa and I will help you reach your dream.

Emily – I want you to know that you are beautiful, and boys will think so too. I can’t wait for you to find love.

Jacob – You will be so much like your Papa – I know it. Treat a girl like your Papa treats me and you will know a great love.

These are some things I want you both to know. You are part of a family that is so blessed to have you and I hope you know that I love you.

Maman”

7 thoughts on “Things I want my children to know…

  1. Ok so add me to the list of people that you made cry because this blog is so beautiful , WOW Barbie , well done. <3 <3 Oh and I can't wait to meet my grandchildren , when the time is right :)

Leave a Reply

