An Open Questionnaire

“These questions have no right or wrong answers.

Because sometimes asking the right questions is the answer.”

The questions are taken from www.marcandangel.com and I’m going to answer them. I’m not going to set resolutions for 2012 that will end up being disappointments, I’m going to free myself to really live in 2012. Because it’s a new year, and how could I let it be anything but amazing?

  1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?
    If I didn’t know how old I was, I wouldn’t know then would I? But if I had to choose my age without knowing my date of birth, I’d say I’m about 50.
  2. Which is worse, failing or never trying?
    Never trying.
  3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?
    We do things we don’t like, and like things we don’t do for the sake of others. When you learn to accept it all, is when you’ve done something for your self.
  4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?
    Probably. I like to talk. But I’m working on getting things done too!
  5. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?
    How I view it.
  6. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?
    The kind of work that sought to make others happy.
  7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?
    I’m settling for now, but after graduation I’ll be doing what I believe in. Sometimes you need to work to get where you want to be.
  8. If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?
    I would already have 2 children, just so I could see them grow.
  9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?
    God has a plan for me, and I try not to stray too often.
  10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?
    I’d like to eventually do the right thing, correctly. For now I just kind of stumble blindly through it all.
  11. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?
    Stand up and walk away. I’ve learned that sometimes people you ‘respect and admire’ can disappoint the hell out of you. You’re better off with the people you love.
  12. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?
    Cry. As much as you can and as loudly as possible. Cry because you are a baby and it’s expected. When you grow up, people will teach you different things about emotions. Don’t worry about it now, though, because it’s okay to cry.
  13. Would you break the law to save a loved one?
    Absolutely. Visit me in jail, please.
  14. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?
    Not yet.
  15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?
    Think.
  16. How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?
    How boring would it be if we all liked the same things? If we were never exposed to someone else’s interests. If we never appreciated that we could do something to make someone else happy, instead of ourselves. If the things that made me happy, made everyone happy, this would be a strange world.
  17. What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?  What’s holding you back?
    Have a baby. What’s holding me back? Timing. I have everything I need but a marriage license.
  18. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?
    Yes. A combination of anger, sadness, and guilt. It’s getting better with time, though.
  19. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?
    France. I love French and I love their culture. Bonjour, nouvelle vie!
  20. Do you push the elevator button more than once?  Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?
    No. I’m a one-push kind of gal. It will get here when it gets here.
  21. Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?
    I am not a genius, but I worry a lot. Am I a simpleton? Maybe.
  22. Why are you, you?
    Right where I need to be.
  23. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?
    I try to be, but I can always do better. I am always trying.
  24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?
    Sometimes distance is equal to effort. I have had friends move away, and then move right back into my life again. A friend who lives close and loses touch? Shitty friend to begin with.
  25. What are you most grateful for?
    A chance to know love.
  26. Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?
    If I lost my long-term memory, how would I change short-term memories into long-term? I think this question is flawed, but it’s been a while since 1st year psychology. I think I’d like to keep making new memories and lose the old ones, if it’s possible. Then again, there are some things I don’t want to ever forget.
  27. Is is possible to know the truth without challenging it first?
    For some people.
  28. Has your greatest fear ever come true?
    No, and I pray it never will.
  29. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset?  Does it really matter now?
    It was probably a lesson in life, so yes. Sometimes it isn’t the specifics that count.
  30. What is your happiest childhood memory?  What makes it so special?
    There were quite a few, here’s the top 3: learning to make  banana bread from Mom, getting starfish in Halifax with Grampy, and my Dad pushing me around on a chair on the skating rink he made.
  31. At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?
    Kevin coming home. Even if he was only gone for a day, or a week. Seeing him walk in the door, it’s another little reminder that I have truly found love.
  32. If not now, then when?
    When I am ready.
  33. If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?
    There is a time for risk, and a time for caution. You should learn that – if you want to learn it the hard way, that’s your choice.
  34. Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?
    A few times. It’s a rare gem.
  35. Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?
    It is not the religion, it’s in the interpretation and the belief that we, as people, know best.
  36. Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?
    No. There are shades of grey that can be debated forever.
  37. If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?
    My part time job? I’d give 2 weeks notice. Nursing? No way.
  38. Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?
    If I enjoyed doing it, is it really work?
  39. Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred times before?
    Each day is new.
  40. When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?
    Any light I have only adds to the light of others. I forge no new paths, only follow one meant for me.
  41. If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?
    A stranger, because I’ll need a friend tomorrow.
  42. Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?
    That could be 10 years that I couldn’t watch my grandchildren grow. No way in hell.
  43. What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
    A feeling.
  44. When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?
    There probably isn’t a good time. Do what is right all the time (like that’s even possible! ha!) and deal with whatever comes.
  45. If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?
    Lessons aren’t always easy ones to learn.
  46. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?
    If you haven’t heard of ‘integrity’, look it up.
  47. When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?
    The last time I had a moment to breathe.
  48. What do you love?  Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?
    Christmas, and snow and the whole season. I had an amazing Christmas with my family. I wrote a blog about it, too.
  49. In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday?  What about the day before that?  Or the day before that?
    I will remember cherishing the time with my loved ones.
  50. Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?
    I don’t think that’s the right question. It should be “Are the decisions right? For all involved, because it’s not just about you.”
    & the answer is yes.

Leave a Reply

