The presents that I DIDN’T find under the tree this year…

Watching my brother-in-law and his girlfriend open the presents we got them and seeing them love everything! Does the heart good to give with no expectation of anything in return.

Eating lunch at my mother-in-laws, practicing my French, and having some of Memere Gilberte’s delicious homemade apple pie. I only saved the crust for Kevin!

Not working on Christmas Eve.

The candle-lighting in church – lighting my candle from Kevin’s, then passing the flame to my parents. Symbolic of the love we share with each other, and I don’t mind singing Silent Night by candlelight either.

Being unable to get over how much the little boy in the pew in front of us looked and acted like Kevin. Once even running to our pew and putting his hands on Kevin’s leg by accident. Kevin and I smiling at him and his sister while they watch me sing the hymns. Telling my Mom I’m ready to bring babies to church.

Putting presents under the tree for our pets.

Not being able to sleep on Christmas Eve, even though I was only running on 2 hours of sleep the night before.

Waking my parents up Christmas morning just like every year.

My Dad being able to open his presents without help.

Forgetting what time it was because I didn’t care – I was happy to be doing whatever I was doing.

Watching Kevin open the toolbox that my parents (ahem, Santa…) bought him. Like a kid in a candy store..or well, a man with a toolbox.

Crying because Christmas is over and Kevin knowing why it upsets me, but reminding me that it’s going to be okay.

Trying coffee from Kevin’s new Keurig machine and actually liking it (uh oh…).

Cleaning and organizing everything now that I have some new things around the house. It’s like the gift that keeps on giving – presents that you love that also force you to get organized.

My Mom letting us update her old silverware! & Dad hiding our favourite forks from the old set.

Salt beef.

Telling Kevin to be careful rinsing/washing the turkey platter (that used to be my Nanny’s). Him saying, “I know.” and knowing that he really does.

Mom kicking our asses at Monopoly and winning with $25.5 million.

Wanting to tell everyone about all the amazing gifts I received but somehow knowing that the ones I just mentioned are the most important ones.

<3

For those of you who really want to know, I was spoiled this year!

7 thoughts on “The presents that I DIDN’T find under the tree this year…

  1. The best gifts that I got:

    -My ring. Not because it’s expensive. But because my boyfriend magically got the right size, the right birthstone, and picked out something that he knew I would find beautiful. It’s the thought and meaning behind it.

    -Spending time with my horse. Because I am still smiling from my ride this afternoon.

    -All of the time I spent with my family.
    -Not having to set an alarm
    -Reading this post. :)

    I’m stealing your idea and posting it on my own blog. :)

Leave a Reply

