That first time feelin’

“Adopting the right attitude can convert a negative stress into a positive one.” -Hans Selye

I just wrapped up my first week back to school. And by first week I mean 2 days. On Thursday I had a meeting in the morning and then a barely-two-hour class. Friday was my clinical orientation day.

It’s stressing me out, man. [Feel free to read that out loud with a stereotypical surfer voice!]

Do you know well or remember that first time feeling? Not knowing how on Earth you can get all of the things on each syllabus done in such a short time? Feeling like all the professors are throwing everything they have at you in one short first-day class? And if you are like us Nursing students who have ‘work’ mixed in there (clinical, labs, work terms, internships) then the feeling of not having enough time is multiplied. Ahhh time.

So now my first ‘week’ is over and I’ve got to really focus and get organized. And stay organized. Four classes, clinical, homework, work, and volunteering are enough to keep me busy. It’s all a little overwhelming actually. Luckily, I’ve had this first time feeling a few times now and I know that I can do it! And to those of you in similar situations – you can too!

I’m going to try my best to enjoy this whole school year, stress and all, because let’s face it – I only have one more year after this one! I am going to adopt a different attitude this year, and see if I can make it last. Homework isn’t horrible – it just has to be done. School doesn’t “suck” – I am very fortunate to be able to attend and afford school! And this first week, this first time feeling? It’s not going to last and soon I will be working away at everything and I will forget all about the new and scary.

Time to buckle down!

Leave a Reply

