Have you got what it takes?

Brad Paisley & Carrie Underwood – Remind Me

When I was in grade 12 I typed a list of “Reasons why I love Kevin Bouchard”. It was a spur of the moment thing that I did and left for him to find, and then the next time I came over to his house he had it up on the wall in his room. It’s been there for almost 3 years now. I took a picture of it, where it still remains taped on our bedroom wall, to share with you..

I’ve been thinking about updating the list lately, making it more of a working document. But for some reason I just can’t bring myself to tear it off the wall. Maybe it’s because after all this time those things still hold true? I still love him for all of those things, but there are more I’d like to add too.

Over time, this list has grown to include all of the day-to-day things like “He helps with all the chores” or “He makes a mean grilled cheese sandwich”. It also includes things like “He had the most beautiful proposal I could’ve imagined” and “He keeps a roof over my head”. This list grows all the time, even without writing a thing down. I think that the list is what makes us work so well.

Some people are in a relationship and while they may love each other very much, they don’t realize that love isn’t enough. You need trust, friendship, hard work, and you need to be thankful for what you are blessed with. Kevin and I have always had friendship. Through time and challenge we have had our share of hard work – fighting to prove ourselves to countless people. Trust is something that has to be earned, and we both earned that from each other. It’s the thankfulness that we need to remember, to remind ourselves of everyday.

I am thankful to have him in my life.

I am thankful to know a love like ours.

I am thankful that we have an opportunity to make something great from our lives, together.

I often wonder why he keeps that list on the wall. I’ve asked him and he usually answers with “I don’t know” which is probably true. It’s not pretty – no frame, it’s not even on card stock! It’s on the wall on what you could say is ‘my side’ of our room. Sometimes when we argue, I’ll go up there and lay down to think. I’ll roll over and look up and there is a list of reason why I love him. I know that, in our relationship, I’m the one who needs to work on not taking him for granted. Maybe that’s why it’s still there. He knew somehow that once in a while I might need a reminder.

Baby, remind me.

B.

2 thoughts on “Have you got what it takes?

Leave a Reply

