Peace.


“Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble, or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.” -Unknown

What does peace mean to you? Do you consider it the quiet before a storm or the lull after a roar of thunder? Is it the state of not being at war? Is it the quiet rustle of an old library? Your children getting along, for once? What about a summer walk or a cold drink? When you look at the peace sign – what comes to mind?

I think that peace is a clear conscience. A happy heart. Peace is inner strength and feeling good. You might think I’m a little hippy. You might scoff at my words. But you know it, don’t you? That peaceful feeling? For me, and my Mom too, actually, it’s water. In the water, on the water, near the water – it doesn’t matter to me. When I hear the waves lapping at the rocky shore, or smell the salty tang of the breeze blowing by – that’s peace for me. And so when work gets hard, when I’m too exhausted to think straight, when I have a bad day, a bad week, or I just need a little peace I head for the beach. Around here there isn’t really an ocean view a few seconds from my house, and I don’t have that itchy chlorine delight in my back yard. The beaches here are a tad rocky and painful on the feet and any place within walking distance is dirty and gross. But when I make the journey – however long or not – when my toes touch water it’s like a deep sigh. Like the weight of the world is lifted off my shoulders.

What’s weird is that the photos above, the peace sign ones with my two best friends, were all taken on different days in different places. In each photo, except the last, we are taking turns holding up our two first fingers in a gesture that says “Hey there! You’re looking at this photo and I hope you’re feelin’ the love!!”. Did you notice that in each picture there is water? It’s like fate and destiny and karma all got together and decided to give me best friends that know exactly how to bring a little peace into my life.

I want to just say to you all – find what is peaceful for you! Find something you can escape to, something that calms you, something you absolutely love. When you find it, don’t ever let it go. It might just end up being your saving grace, your rock.

Sometimes with all of the bad in this world, it’s hard to remember a time when you felt peace. When people hurt you, when wars wage on, when something you believe in is crushed – it’s hard. It’s easy to be sucked in to all of the negativity and to feel like you are a weight tied down at the bottom of the ocean.

Cut those strings.

Swim hard.

Find peace

& hang on tight.

Groovy. ;)

2 thoughts on “Peace.

  1. PEACE MY YOUNG FRIEND! You write with the knowledge of an old lady and I love that about you!
    I LOVE the tie dies! Especially hanging on the clothes line!

Leave a Reply

