You’re full of bologna.

First of all, I’d like to mention that this is the first time I’ve changed a title. Technically, I hadn’t written it yet but I wanted to title this blog post my Dad’s infamous “You’re full of p*** and vinegar.” until I remembered that I may possibly be sending various young family members to their parents to find out how someone can be full of vinegar, and what’s p***? But let me get to the point.

This blog is about hunger. I was literally hungry and decided to write a blog about hunger. Now I’m eating cereal as I write this (I know, I’m a multitasking Goddess, thank you) and I’m not quite so hungry. Allow me to explain: I was trying to think of something to write about, and was extremely hungry and began thinking of ways this might be able to inspire a blog post. Then I thought about metaphorical hunger, how I hunger for things in life, chase dreams. And then I thought about what those things are that I’m hungry for (besides the cereal, which are Corn Pops, by the way).

Graduation.

Buying a house.

Getting married.

Being a nurse.

Having babies. (<- this one especially!)

And I realized that these are all things I have to wait for! That means that these wishes I’m wishing, the dreams I’m dreaming, the life I hunger for is too. far. away. You know what people say to these kinds of dreams?

“You’re wishing your time away!”

“Don’t wish your life away – you’ll regret it!”

“Don’t be in such a rush to grow up!”

“Just wait until you get into the real world…”

And I’ve decided to tell these people, you’re full of bologna! You’re all wrong! You don’t understand! It became clear to me, when I began planning my wedding three years before the date, that you are forbidden think too far ahead. God forbid, prices may change, buildings might be torn down, people’s minds may change, and you’ve got lots of time. Again with the bologna!

When I was little, all I wanted was to grow up. And I did – so quickly I hardly remember it all!

On my first day of highschool someone said during a speech, “Welcome class of 2009”. That was in 2005. I thought that four years would take SO long but they flew by!

I started dating Kevin in 2007. You know at the beginning of a relationship when no one thinks it will last because you haven’t been together long enough? Well that phase flew by too, it’s been almost 4 years. That’s as long as highschool!

So, I understand why people might say those ‘don’t wish your time away’ things – I really do. I just want people to realize that whether or not you wish the time to pass, it still will. I’m not sitting on my couch everyday waiting to start my life until I reach a certain age. I have decided exactly what I want to do with my life, who I want to to spend my life with, and I just can’t wait for it all to happen. In thirty years (I’ll be 50, for those who aren’t up on their mental math) I will probably be sitting in a rocking chair on a Saturday rocking my baby grandchild in my arms thinking to myself, “Wow, time really did fly by, didn’t it?”. And it probably will. But that’s okay with me, I won’t have regrets. When Kevin proposed, it was 3 years and 3 days from our wedding date. It’s already been a year!

Thankfully, time flies.

Leave a Reply

