Right here waiting.

The reason it hurts so much to separate is

because our souls are connected. Maybe they

always have been and will be. Maybe we’ve

lived a thousand lives before this one and in

each of them we’ve found each other. And

maybe each time, we’ve been forced apart for

the same reasons. That means that this good-

bye is both a good-bye for the past ten thou-

sand years and a prelude to what will come.

When I look at you, I see your beauty and

grace and know they have grown stronger

with every life you have lived. And I know I 

have spent every life before this one

searching for you. Not someone like you, but

you, for your soul and mine must always

come together. And then, for a reason neither

of us understands, we’ve been forced to say

good-bye.

I would love to tell you that everything will

work out for us, and I promise to do all that I can

to make sure it does. But if we never meet

again and this is truly good-bye, I know we

will see each other again in another life. We

will find each other again, and maybe the

stars will have changed, and we will not only

love each other in that time, but for all the

times we’ve had before.

p121-122 – The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks

 I am lucky. I have a father who has gone overseas and has always come home. I have known friends who have welcomed loved ones back home from a tour of duty. I have hugged my brother-in-law goodbye, and clung to online evidence that he’s doing alright. I have been in a military family since my Dad joined when I was a baby, and I would never want it any other way. I used to say I’d never date someone in the military, that I never wanted to go through the pain and the heartache of being in love and being torn from each other. But who knows love like a woman who’s man wants nothing more than to come home and be in her arms? Who has kissed like a man coming back to the woman who has saved all of her kisses for him? Who is so strong, that he or she can fight through an ache in their chest so strong it threatens to break them down everyday? Who else feels that desire and that passion, living with the understanding that they can get along day-to-day without their soul mate, because they don’t have a choice, but only longs for the day when they’re together again?

There are few noble deeds left in this world. In a time of technology people forget what it’s like to truly miss someone. So this blog is for the men and women waiting at home for their loved ones. Whether they are gone on exercise for one night, one week, or one month. Whether they’re across the country, in another country, across the world. Whether you’ve been married for 20 years, or dating for 20 days – this thing you do, waiting, is noble. All those nights you break down and cry and as many brave smiles and happy faces you force everyday, are part of your normal life. Because you are the ones who make coming home worth it. When soldiers feel down and lost, like they’ve worked as hard as a person can work and then still keep going, it’s you they think about. They do it for their lovers, their children, their family, their friends, and their country.

If you’ve turned down a million men for the one who’s gone away – this is for you. And if you’ve cried a million tears after a simple news story, of the death of a soldier who you knew, or could’ve known – this is for you. If you’ve wondered a million times why people just don’t understand – this is for you. If you’ve had all you can take and you feel like there’s no where to turn – this is for you. You are not alone, never alone. Even when your loved one is so far away you forget what it feels like to connect eyes with them, to feel them near, you are not alone.

And like all of you noble and strong men and women, when Kevin is in Afghanistan next year I will have good days and I will have bad days. And I will risk the rest of my life, because there is a chance he won’t come home again. Regardless, I will be right here waiting.

3 thoughts on “Right here waiting.

  1. Oh Doll, You have done it again! There is no stronger woman that that of a soldier. You are Blessed in so many ways Barb, with Kevin, with your words, and with friends and family. I love you girl!

Leave a Reply

