the best ones.

“A friend is a person with whom I may be sincere.  Before him I may think aloud.  I am arrived at last in the presence of a man so real and equal, that I may drop even those undermost garments of dissimulation, courtesy, and second thought, which men never put off, and may deal with him with the simplicity and wholeness with which one chemical atom meets another.” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

There are some people who come into your life with a grand entrance. You meet and something happens and you just know that it was meant to be, it’s the love-at-first-sight kind of meeting. Then there are the the people who just sort of drift in and out, until there is this realization that you don’t want to let them leave again. And those are the best ones. That’s also the story of us.

The girls in the pictures above are my best friends. I feel a little reminiscent of kindergarten when I say that, but it’s true. I don’t have some wicked story like the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants, where our Moms were all best friends and had us and we became best friends, etc… I haven’t known these beautiful ladies since I was born, actually, I didn’t even meet Kelsey until elementary school, 3 provinces away from where I was born. And I didn’t meet Sasha until grade 9, in yet another province. No, the story of how I met these ladies is not the best part, it’s the story of how they met each other that takes the cake.

Kevin was in Hawaii during the summer, for a few months, and so it was no coincidence that Kelsey arrived back in my life. I might not have known it then, but I need both of them in my life. These two ladies met last summer, 2010, when I introduced them. I wasn’t sure how it was going to go, and I was worried that if they didn’t like each other I would spend my days making separate plans and arranging friendships that didn’t overlap. You see, Kelsey and I didn’t have Facebook when I was posted to New Brunswick from Ontario. So I didn’t know that she had been posted to British Columbia, and I certainly didn’t see it coming when she strolled into Sobeys during my shift and said she’d been posted here to New Brunswick, too! And Sasha, well, her and I managed to become closer after high school, for which I am thankful because she’s been the best friend I could ever ask for throughout all of the changes that have affected my life since then. And so Kelsey and I quickly got through the first few awkward get-togethers and I wanted them to meet. Please let them like each other, please.

On Canada day, a group of us went mini-putting, ate supper out and wolfed down the most delicious mini-donuts ever (ha!). We watched the fireworks in the rain, which might sound romantic if it was with a boy and it wasn’t such cold rain! We made memories. And then, before I knew it I would be making plans and Kelsey would ask, “Is Sasha coming?” or I’d be heading to meet Sasha and she’d say, “Bring Kelsey!”. Somehow, this universe not only gave me two of the best friends left in this world, but they got along with each other too.

It has been a while since the three of us began down the same road, but sometimes I still marvel at the fact that we’re here, growing up and living life and still finding the time to make this friendship work. They have this uncanny ability to put up with me, my obsession with Nursing (I felt sorry for them during my Maternity clinical rotation, as they really don’t have strong stomachs..), and the messiness of my house. Sasha is halfway through a computer science degree, and plans to pursue a career in veterinary medicine after that. Kelsey is blowing an Arts degree out of the water with her outstanding knowledge and her constant willingness to learn. I have no doubt that both of them will do great things. I plan on having both of them as bridesmaids in my wedding, and probably as godparents to my children and constants in my life, hopefully until forever. My favourite thing about our friendship is I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that we’ll still be working on our commitment level to the gym, going to the beach and getting sunburned, or going to the movies, hanging out at my house (and maybe someday theirs!) baking or cooking or gosh knows eating for the next 30, 40, or 50 years.

There are some people who come into your life in a flash. You meet and you just know. Then there are others who come in and out until you arrive at the realization that you don’t want them to leave again. And those friends, the ones who you can look at and say I love you, please stay in my life, those friends are the best ones.

So Kelsey, I love you, and please stay in my life. You are beautiful and smart, and you somehow manage to keep my Mother on her toes! ;) You are an amazing friend, and I am lucky to know you. I wish you all the happiness and love that this world has to offer and more. You are brilliant, and I believe you can do anything in this life. Also, someday I’ll be an asset on 2-player, instead of just helping you get the ‘x2’ stickers. Oh who am I kidding? Well, I’ll at least still be there to be your second player..and for anything else you need. Love, B.

And Sasha, I love you, and please stay in my life. You are lovely, and beautiful and you deserve love and happiness always. You are a great friend and you have a beautiful smile! Really! You are creative, smart and hard-working (I still remember your notes when you took psych in grade 12!), and I admire that! You are so kind, and really talented. Actually, so talented I was almost embarrassed picking up our ClayCafé creations! I really hope you finish vet school, I’ll first be at the doors of your practice with Mac and Berks, ready to give you all my money! :) Love, B.

Yup, they’re the best ones.

One thought on “the best ones.

  1. Three very LUCKY friends!! In the military it is very hard to find friends when you’re young and still have them into adulthood! Thank heavens for the inertnet and Facebook! You are all very Blessed to have each other. Sisters, no doubt!

Leave a Reply

