back to business.

My plan to blog every week didn’t work out so well, did it? That lasted all of one day! The summer was a whirlwind of activity that left little time for blogging. Now that school has started up again I think it will serve as a nice break from studying! Nothing like killing two birds with one stone.

So now, what to write about?

Nursing. That’s always a good place to start! Besides, with all the study guides, readings, homework, assignments, and jumbled-together-confusing-hard-to-understand schedules, I’m sure I could bore you with something! Second year nursing, first semestre, is going well so far. It’s hard and stressful but I get to watch the birth of a baby (which I’ve been waiting for) finally. My first clinical rotation is in Mental Health. Ahh! Now, due to good ‘ole confidentiality I won’t really be able to share actual experiences but man am a terrified of this field. Maybe I’ll love it, but I doubt it – and maybe I’m horrible for judging the experience before I’ve had it but let’s just say I hope those 16 shifts prove me wrong!

Next in the “circle” of rotation would me “Young Families’ Health”! Also known as the course where I am the student nurse standing there while my patient delivers the most precious gift known to humans! The place where I want to work 12 hour shifts for years and where, as a first year, I was warned is horrible and “you won’t like it”. Well I’ll have to let you know, but I think I’m already in love with maternity and labour&delivery.

Finally, chronic health. Diabetes, Crohn’s, Cancer, Arthritis.. As someone who knows a family member (or two) with each of the previous diseases, and has no living grandparents, I expected to be in panic mode over this course. While I admit, learning about diseases that have stole people from my life will not be pleasant, I’m hoping that the experience I have might help. I can’t remember a time when there were no ‘sick’ people in my life, and I hope my patients will benefit.

There’s not a lot to share this time around, I’ve really only had 3 days of classes. Stay tuned though, I have to catheterize a Simu-person (?) next week!

Leave a Reply

